1. Home
  2. breadcrumbs separator
  3. breadcrumbs separator
  4. breadcrumbs separator

Buloke Celebrates Australia Day Winners

Buloke Celebrates Australia Day Winners

Publish Date: 26 January 2021

The announcement of the Buloke Shire Council Australia Day Awards was made in Nullawil on Monday 25 January 2021 at a community event.

Margaret Pollington (Citizen of the Year), Tyson Coats, Jake Sullivan, Will Noble, Jett Adams, and Zac Livingston – Donald Skate Park (Young Citizen of the Year) and “RU OK?” Day – Buloke Neighbourhood House Network (Event of the Year) were acknowledged for their dedicated contributions towards Buloke communities with the prestigious awards.


Named Citizen of the Year, Margaret Pollington’s devotion to Nullawil would be hard to overstate, with her input spread wide across the community.

From local sporting codes to numerous community organisations, Margaret’s involvement through her hands-on style, her leadership, mentoring and passion for the township and wider region has brought untold benefits, and enriched the lives of residents both locally and beyond.

Fund-raising, working bees, catering - Margaret has embraced it all. From grant convener for the Nullawil Silo Art Project to executive roles In the North Central Lawn Tennis Association, supporting the Wycheproof P12 College to extensive involvement through the local and surrounding Netball leagues. All of this, as well as raising a family and working a full-time job for many years!

“A positive role model, Margaret’s enthusiasm for encouraging the younger generation to become involved will build on her already remarkable legacy. Margaret is a worthy Citizen of the Year and joins an honour role of great magnitude”, said Mayor Cr Daryl Warren.

Buloke Citizen of the Year

Citizen of the Year Margaret Pollington is pictured with Mayor Cr Daryl Warren and last year's winner John McConville. 


The fruition of Donald’s Skate Park is a long-held dream made real thanks to the determination of a group of local young people.

Donald youngsters, Will Noble, Tyson Coates, Jake Sullivan, Jett Adams and Zac Livingston envisaged the youth–based amenity, and through their initiative, energy and enthusiasm they galvanised the community to bring it into reality.  

From the project launch in 2018 a recreational space has now been delivered for young people to develop skateboarding skills, boost physical activity and provide a meeting place for peer support.

“Achieving goals and overcoming challenges has created a learning pathway for the boys, and their ability to attract significant fundraising dollars from the community has yielded an asset to be enjoyed for years to come. This project represents the most significant contribution by our youth in recent times”, said Cr Warren.

Buloke Young Citizens of the Year 2

Presenting the Buloke Young Citizen of the Year Award, Cr. Graeme Milne (centre) is pictured with members of the Donald Skate Park Committee (l-r) Will Noble, Jett Adams and Tyson Coates. Absent members were Zac Livingston and Jake Sullivan.


RU OK? Day was never more important than in 2020.

In a year marked by isolation and uncertainty, building up this conversation saw the Buloke Neighbourhood House Network (BNHN) co-ordinate its five outlets to present a day of special initiatives to inject confidence back into the communities and create opportunities to talk.

Birchip, Charlton, Donald, Sea Lake and Wycheproof teams offered outreach through events including contactless deliveries, videos, supplying cupcakes and biscuits, engaging with businesses and offering referral pathways where needed.

“Despite operating behind closed doors, the BNHN also provided a link between community and local government, health and business sectors with the transfer of relevant information, provision of resources and support for the vulnerable”.

“Building connections and boosting positive outcomes at a time of need has been recognised with this award”’ said Cr Warren.

Buloke Event of the Year

From (l-r) Phoebe Paley (Birchip), Kayleen Cossar (Charlton) Hannah Cox (Sea Lake) Cr. David Vis, Charmaine Delaney (Donald) Karlia Hickey (Sea Lake), and Sandy Pollington (Wycheproof Community Resource Centre).

End release 
For further information contact Manager Customer Engagement, Travis Fitzgibbon on 03 5478 0181 or