1. Home
  2. breadcrumbs separator

Communities & Neighbourhoods


The Buloke Shire community is made up of five major towns, Birchip, Charlton, Donald, Sea Lake and Wycheproof, and five smaller townships, Berriwillock, Culgoa, Nandaly, Nullawil and Watchem.

For more information on each of the main towns, see our Community Websites page.

Shire Demographics

Buloke Shire Council is one of Victoria’s most sparsely populated municipalities. At the time of the 2011 Australian Bureau of Statistics census there were 6,384 people living in 2,615 households.

Around 24% of the Buloke community is made up of people aged 65+ years, 51.4% of people between the ages of 20 and 64, 19.2% of people are between the ages of 5 and 19, and 5.3% are children under the age of 5.

Buloke is a homogenous community, with 90.3% of people born in Australia.

Buloke Shire Community Profile

The Buloke Shire Community Profile provides demographic analysis for the Shire Council and its suburbs based on results from the 2011, 2006, 2001, 1996 and 1991 Censuses of Population and Housing. The profile is updated with population estimates when the Australian Bureau of Statistics (ABS) releases new figures.

Volunteer Resources

Volunteering is the life line of any community and especially so in rural areas such as ours. Without volunteers, the vast majority of local activities would not take place and many services that we take for granted would be at risk. See Volunteer Resources for more.

Find out more about:

Community Planning Projects
Community Plans are the community's strategic plan for the future of our Shire.       

Community Websites
Local township websites for Birchip, Charlton, Donald, Sea Lake, Watchem and Wycheproof.