1. Home
  2. breadcrumbs separator
  3. breadcrumbs separator
  4. breadcrumbs separator

Food Safety Programs and Food Safety Supervisors


A food safety program is a written plan that shows what a business does to ensure that the food it sells is safe for human consumption.

Class 1 and 2 premises must have a food safety program and are required under the Food Act 1984 to have a copy onsite at the premises. Class 1 and 2 premises must also have a food safety supervisor.

A food safety supervisor is someone who:

  • knows how to recognise, prevent and alleviate food handling hazards at the premises;
  • has a Statement of Attainment that shows the required food safety competencies from a Registered Training Organisation (RTO);
  • has the ability and authority to supervise other people handling food at the premises and ensure that food handling is done safely.

Class 3 and 4 premises do not need a food safety program or food safety supervisor due to the lower food safety risks associated with the food handling activities at these premises; however, these businesses must still ensure that the food they sell is safe. Class 3 premises are required to keep minimum records of their food safety practices onsite.

For more information visit Victorian Department of Health’s Food Safety website.